Southwark Cathedral

Roof Bosses

[Home]  [Search]  [E-mail]

* Explore

Marchioness Memorial

Roof bosses
Norman door
Gower Tomb

Hollar Memorial
Shakespeare Memorial
Wanamaker Memorial

Crossing and Transepts

Choir and Retro-Choir

In 1469 the priory church suffered a setback when the roof of the nave collapsed. Although previously vaulted in stone, it was rebuilt in wood and incorporated 150 carved and painted bosses. They would be seen in places similar to those marked by red dots in the photograph. The two bosses shown are approximately 40 cms in diameter.

Devil boss
The Devil swallows
Judas Iscariot

Pelican boss
The Pelican feeds its young with its own blood
(a symbol of Christ's sacrifice)

[Previous]   [Next]

Diocese of Southwark
Last updated: 10/12/04