This website has been archived

Care of Churches

Useful Websites

General

Churchcare: www.churchcare.co.uk

Church of England (main website): www.cofe.anglican.org

Ecclesiastical Insurance: www.ecclesiastical.com/churchmatters

Faith in Maintenance: www.spabfim.org.uk

Accessibility

Centre for Accessible Environments: www.cae.org.uk

Disability Discrimination Act (DDA) - government website:

www.direct.gov.uk/en/DisabledPeople/RightsAndObligations/
DisabilityRights/DG_4001068

Equality and Human Rights Commissions: www.equalityhumanrights.com

National Register of Access Consultants: www.nrac.org.uk

Through The Roof: www.throughtheroof.org

Archaeology

Advisory Panel on the Archaeology of Christian Burials in England: www.britarch.ac.uk/churches/humanremains/index.html

Association of Diocesan and Cathedral Archaeologists: www.britarch.ac.uk/adca

Council for British Archaeology: www.britarch.ac.uk

Architects & Surveyors

Ecclesiastical Architects' and Surveyors' Association: www.easanet.co.uk

RIBA Register of Architects Accredited in Building Conservation (AABC): www.aabc-register.co.uk

Bells

Central Council of Church Bell Ringers: www.cccbr.org.uk

Church Bells of Kent: kent.lovesguide.com

Keltek Trust - helping churches locate surplus and redundant bells: www.keltek.org

Kent County Association of Change Ringers: www.kcacr.org.uk

Southwark Cathedral Society of Bellringers: www.southwark-bells.org.uk

Surrey Association of Church Bell Ringers: www.surreybellringers.org.uk

Commissioning artwork and memorials

Churchart: www.churchart.co.uk

Memorials by Artists: www.memorialsbyartists.co.uk

Conservation and repairs

Building Conservation Directory: www.buildingconservation.com

Conservation Register: www.conservationregister.com

Conservation Bodies and Amenity Societies

Ancient Monuments Society: www.ancientmonumentssociety.org.uk

Church Monuments Society: www.churchmonumentssociety.org

Churches Conservation Trust: www.visitchurches.org.uk
Ecclesiological Society: www.ecclsoc.org

English Heritage: www.english-heritage.org.uk

Friends of Friendless Churches: www.friendsoffriendlesschurches.org.uk

Georgian Group: www.georgiangroup.org.uk

National Association of Decorative & Fine Arts Societies (NADFAS): www.nadfas.org.uk

Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings: www.spab.org.uk

Twentieth Century Society: www.c20society.org.uk

Victorian Society: www.victorian-society.org.uk

William Morris Society: www.morrissociety.org

Copyright licensing

Christian Copyright Licensing International: www.ccli.co.uk

Entertainment licensing (including sale of alcohol)

Licensing Act 2003: www.culture.gov.uk/what_we_do/alcohol_and_entertainment

Environment & Ecology

Ancient Yew Group: www.ancient-yew.org

Bat Conservation Trust: www.bats.org.uk

British Butterfly Conservation Society: www.butterfly-conservation.org

British Lichen Society: www.thebls.org.uk

Caring for God's Acre: www.caringforgodsacre.org.uk

Christian Ecology Link: www.christian-ecology.org.uk

Conservation Foundation: www.conservationfoundation.co.uk

Eco-congregation: www.ecocongregation.org

London Wildlife Trust: www.wildlondon.org.uk

Operation Noah: www.operationnoah.org

Natural England: www.naturalengland.org.uk

Shrinking the Footprint:www.churchcare.co.uk/shrinking-the-footprint

Surrey Biodiversity Partnership: www.surreybiodiversitypartnership.org

Surrey Wildlife Trust: www.surreywildlifetrust.co.uk

Funding and grants

English Heritage/Heritage Lottery Fund:
www.english-heritage.org.uk/server/show/nav.1122

Procurement rules for projects involving public funding:
www.churchcare.co.uk/legal.php?GU

Funds for Historic Buildings: www.fundsforhistoricbuildings.org.uk

GrantFinder: www.grantfinder.co.uk

Landfill Communities Fund: www.entrust.org.uk

Listed Places of Worship Grant Scheme: www.lpwscheme.org.uk

Marshall's Charity: www.marshalls.org.uk

Memorials Grant Scheme: www.memorialgrant.org.uk

National Churches Trust: www.historicchurches.org.uk

Surrey Churches Preservation Trust: www.surreychurchespreservationtrust.org

Health & Safety

Church Safety: www.churchsafety.org.uk

Ecclesiastical Insurance: www.ecclesiastical.com (go to 'insurance' > 'church insurance')

Fire Safety law: www.communities.gov.uk/fire/firesafety/firesafetylaw/

Health & Safety Executive: www.hse.gov.uk

No Smoking Legislation

Smokefree England: www.smokefreeengland.co.uk

Notice boards

Get Your Church Noticed: www.getyourchurchnoticed.com

Organs

Association of Independent Organ Advisers: www.aioa.org.uk

British Institute of Organ Studies: www.bios.org.uk

East Surrey Organists Association: www.east-surreyorganists.org

Institute of British Organ Building: www.ibo.co.uk

National Pipe Organ Register at the University of Cambridge: npor.emma.cam.ac.uk

Royal School of Church Music - The Organ and its Care: www.rscm.com/info_resources/index.php#organCare

Security

National Churchwatch: www.nationalchurchwatch.com

War Memorials

Guidance for custodians of war memorials in England and Wales: www.dca.gov.uk/corbur/buriafr.htm#5

War Memorials Trust: www.warmemorials.org

UK National Inventory of War Memorials: www.ukniwm.org.uk