This website has been archived

Common Tenure

Common Tenure

By 2011 many clergy in the Church of England will hold their Ecclesiastical Office under a new form of tenure. Common Tenure is part of a framework of terms of service that brings security, clarity, and the opportunity for people to work together to encourage and support the Clergy's ministry.

It is anticipated that the legislation implementing Common Tenure is to be brought into effect on 31 January 2011 and Ecclesiastical office holders without freehold, together with the Archbishops of Canterbury and York, are expected to move automatically onto Common Tenure on that date.

Documents & Resources

NSM Working Agreement for Common Tenure